Feed contracts awarded for Abu Dhabi chemicals plants

11 June 2024

Register for MEED's guest programme 

Front-end engineering and design (feed) contracts have been awarded for three chemicals production plants that will be built in the Taziz Industrial Chemicals Zone in Abu Dhabi’s Ruwais.

Germany-headquartered Thyssenkrupp Uhde has won feed contracts for an ethylene dichloride (EDC) plant and a chlor-alkali plant, according to sources.

France-based Technip Energies has won the feed contract for a polyvinyl chloride (PVC) facility, sources told MEED.

The three planned chemicals plants are part of a scheme known as Project Salt. It is among the main investments in the first phase of development for the upcoming petrochemicals derivatives complex by Taziz.

Taziz – a 60:40 joint venture of Abu Dhabi National Oil Company (Adnoc) and Abu Dhabi’s industrial holding company ADQ – first announced the EDC, chlor-alkali and PVC plants in December 2021. India’s Reliance Industries was named as the main investor in the chemicals plants at the time.

Reliance is understood to have pulled out of Project Salt and has been replaced by France-based Kem One, the sources further said.

Taziz Industrial Chemicals Zone

Since 2021, Taziz has attracted investments from several foreign investors for its planned chemicals projects in the under-construction Taziz Industrial Chemicals Zone in Ruwais.

In addition to the three chemicals plants planned under Project Salt, a joint venture of UAE-based Fertiglobe, South Korea’s GS Energy Corporation (GS Energy) and Japanese investment firm Mitsui & Company (Mitsui) have invested in a “world-scale” blue ammonia production facility in the Ruwais derivatives complex.

The joint venture recently awarded the construction contract for the 1 million-tonnes-a-year blue ammonia facility to Tecnimont, after having awarded the engineering and procurement contract to the Italian contractor in February last year.

Separately, Taziz and Switzerland-based energy and chemicals company Proman also signed a shareholder agreement for a planned methanol project in January last year. The two companies initially announced the planned project in March 2022.

MEED recently reported that contractors were preparing technical bids for the planned methanol plant, which will be the UAE’s first. The projected production capacity of the methanol complex is 5,000 metric tonnes a day, or 1.8 million metric tonnes a year.

In December 2021, Taziz secured agreements from eight UAE-based entities for investments in its planned chemicals projects in Ruwais. The agreements marked the first domestic public-private partnership in Abu Dhabi’s downstream oil and gas and petrochemicals sector.

ALSO READ: Abu Dhabi launches next Taziz phase

Regarding infrastructure to support units in the chemicals production zone, Adnoc has signed an agreement with Abu Dhabi National Energy Company (Taqa) to develop a cogeneration power facility in Ruwais.

Separately, Netherlands-based VTTI has recently received commercial bids from contractors for a project to build a chemicals handling and export terminal at the Taziz Industrial Chemicals Zone – a scheme known as Project Landing.

Taziz has planned seven petrochemicals derivatives projects as part of the first phase of its industrial chemicals zone, which are:

Anchor product

End-use

Chlor-alkali

Water treatment, metallurgy and textiles

Ethylene dichloride

Housing, infrastructure and consumer goods

Maleic anhydride

Piping, construction and heavy transport

Methanol

Energy, consumer goods and pharmaceuticals

Blue ammonia

Agriculture, apparel and energy

Isopropyl alcohol

Healthcare and cosmetics

Elastomers

Automobiles, adhesives, food production and storage

Chemicals production is a priority sector for Operation 300bn, the UAE’s industrial growth strategy.

The industrial strategy is being overseen by the Industry & Advanced Technology Ministry, which aims to raise the UAE industrial sector’s contribution to the national GDP to AED300bn ($81.7bn) by 2031.

ALSO READ: Taziz signs up tenants for light industrial cluster
https://image.digitalinsightresearch.in/uploads/NewsArticle/11898602/main.jpg
Indrajit Sen
Related Articles
  • KBR seeks renewable energy contracts in Libya

    29 September 2026

     

    The US-headquartered technology and engineering company KBR is seeking renewable energy project contracts in Libya.

    Representatives from KBR met with Abdussalam Elansari, chairman of the Renewable Energy Authority of Libya, earlier this month to discuss project opportunities, sources said.

    The meeting with Elansari followed KBR’s opening of a new branch in Libya and its securing of several contract awards in the oil and gas sector.

    In March, KBR announced that it had been awarded a contract by Zallaf Exploration, Production & Refining of Oil & Gas Company to provide project management and technical services for the South Refinery Project in Libya’s southern city of Ubari.

    Under the terms of the contract, KBR will provide contract management, project management and supporting technical services throughout the engineering, procurement and construction (EPC) phases of the project, according to a company statement.

    The EPC work is expected to be executed over a 50-month period.

    KBR is also carrying out work to re-evaluate the front-end engineering and design (feed) for the project to develop Libya’s J6 North Gialo field.

    In January, KBR signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with the state-owned Libyan Post, Telecommunications & Information Technology Company.

    Under the MoU, KBR agreed to support efforts to develop and improve Libya’s communications infrastructure and enhance fifth-generation (5G) mobile networks in the country.

    KBR has previously provided engineering services for major national projects in Libya, but was forced to shut down its office in the country several times amid political instability and security issues.

    When the company was known as Brown & Root, it worked on the Great Man-Made River Project in Libya, which is widely recognised as the largest irrigation project in the world.

    https://image.digitalinsightresearch.in/uploads/NewsArticle/20081880/main.jpg
    Wil Crisp
  • Sharakat receives bids for Riyadh East sewage treatment plant

    29 September 2026

    Saudi Arabia’s state water offtaker Sharakat has received bids for the contract to develop the $150m Riyadh East independent sewage treatment plant (ISTP).

    Bids were submitted on 28 September.

    The plant will have a treatment capacity of 200,000 cubic metres a day (cm/d) in its first phase, expanding to 500,000 cm/d in the second phase.

    Five consortiums made offers, including:

    • EtihadWE (UAE) / Metito (UAE) / Thrustboring Construction Company (TCC, Saudi Arabia)
    • GS Inima (Spain) / Alkhorayef (Saudi Arabia) 
    • Lamar (Bahrain) / China Harbour Engineering Company (CHEC)
    • Miahona (Saudi Arabia) / Marafiq  (Saudi Arabia) / Bin Omairah Holding (Saudi Arabia)
    • Suez (France) / Civil Works Company (Saudi Arabia) / Alwael (Saudi Arabia)

    In May, MEED exclusively reported that groups had begun to form for the project, which will be developed under a build‑own‑operate‑transfer model with a 25‑year concession term.

    It is understood that at least two other potential consortiums weighed up making an offer for the contract, but did not bid.

    In 2024, Sharakat prequalified 53 companies that could bid for the Riyadh East ISTP, part of seven planned ISTP projects it said it would procure between 2024 and 2026. The request for proposals was issued last October. 

    WSP is the technical adviser, and KPMG Middle East is the lead and financial adviser.

    The targeted commercial operation date for the facility is 2029.

    https://image.digitalinsightresearch.in/uploads/NewsArticle/20066914/main.jpg
    Mark Dowdall
  • Egypt firm wins Al-Dabaa desalination O&M contract

    29 September 2026

    Elsewedy Utilities has been awarded a three-year operation and maintenance (O&M) contract for a seawater desalination plant in Al-Dabaa on Egypt’s north coast.

    The plant has a production capacity of 40,000 cubic metres a day (cm/d), and the contract runs for three years.

    The award reflects Egypt’s increased focus on involving local private sector companies in operating and maintaining existing seawater desalination plants.

    In March, Egypt’s Ministry of Housing, Utilities & Urban Communities directed that a number of existing desalination plants with capacities of more than 10,000 cm/d be offered to specialised local private sector companies for O&M. The plants include facilities in Al-Dabaa, Matrouh and El-Alamein, as well as sites in the Red Sea region and North and South Sinai.

    The government said the move is intended to improve operating efficiency, strengthen maintenance systems and make greater use of specialised technical expertise. The contract value was not disclosed.

    Elsewedy Utilities is the utilities and facilities management arm of Elsewedy Electric, with activities spanning engineering, procurement and construction, O&M and utility management.

    As MEED understands, the contract is separate from the South Med desalination project at Al-Dabaa, which is being developed for the Engineering Authority of the Armed Forces’ Water Management Department.

    Elsewedy Electric Infrastructure previously announced it is the main engineering, procurement and construction contractor for the planned 160,000-cubic-metre-a-day seawater reverse-osmosis plant.

    Cairo-headquartered Engineering Experience Group also won a design and engineering services contract for the project in June.

    https://image.digitalinsightresearch.in/uploads/NewsArticle/20066727/main41574303.jpg
    Mark Dowdall
  • Oman awards exploration blocks to state upstream firm

    28 September 2026

    Oman’s Ministry of Energy & Minerals (MEMR) has awarded state-owned upstream firm OQ Exploration & Production (OQEP) exploration rights for three hydrocarbon blocks in the sultanate.

    OQEP, which is 75% owned by Omani state energy group OQ, has secured rights for Blocks 36, 43A and 66.

    Under the agreements, OQEP will conduct geological and geophysical surveys, analysis and modelling, and drill exploratory wells at the three blocks, with the aim of developing recoverable reserves.

    Neither MEMR nor OQEP disclosed the blocks’ locations, areas or prospective reserves in their statement.

    OQEP’s portfolio comprises 14 upstream oil and gas exploration and production assets in Oman, covering onshore and offshore operations and assets held under service contracts.

    Formerly known as Oman Oil Company Exploration & Production, OQEP’s flagship assets include Block 60, which contains the Abu Tubul and Bisat oil fields, and Block 48. The company also holds strategic interests in gas-producing Blocks 9, 10 and 61.

    Offshore expansion

    OQEP has been expanding its offshore exploration portfolio. In February, the company acquired a 30% participating interest in offshore Block 18, following MEMR’s award of exploration rights to a joint venture between OQEP subsidiary OQ Exploration & Production Al-Batinah Offshore and PC Oman Ventures, a wholly owned subsidiary of Malaysia’s Petronas.

    Located off Oman’s northeastern coast, Block 18 covers more than 21,000 square kilometres in the Sea of Oman, with water depths ranging from 50 metres to 3,000 metres. No confirmed discoveries have previously been reported in the block.

    ALSO READ: Concession deals boost momentum in Oman mining

    Under the concession agreement, Petronas holds a 70% participating interest and operatorship, while OQEP holds the remaining 30%.

    OQEP has also expanded its producing portfolio through the acquisition of a 35% interest in onshore Block 27 from Japan's Mitsui E&P Middle East in April. The transaction was valued at RO28.8m ($75m).

    Block 27 is operated by US-based Occidental Petroleum, which holds a 65% participating interest under an exploration and production-sharing agreement valid until 2035. 

    OQEP expects its interest in the block to contribute approximately 3,500 barrels of oil equivalent a day (boe/d) in additional net production this year.

    In June, MEMR signed an  with OQEP and state-owned Turkiye Petroller AO (TPAO), granting the companies exclusive exploration, appraisal, development and production rights for offshore Block 80.

    The block covers approximately 5,737 sq km in the Gulf of Oman, near the Strait of Hormuz and off Musandam governorate. It includes the producing Bukha and West Bukha oil and gas fields.

    The agreement stipulates a minimum exploration investment commitment of $90m over an initial eight-year exploration period. The work programme is divided into two phases to evaluate the block’s hydrocarbon potential.

    https://image.digitalinsightresearch.in/uploads/NewsArticle/20063097/main2825.jpeg
    Indrajit Sen
  • Saudi Arabia qualifies firms for gas-fired IPPs

    28 September 2026

    Register for MEED’s 14-day trial access 

    Principal buyer Saudi Power Procurement Company (SPPC) has qualified 13 companies to bid for the third round of Saudi Arabia’s combined-cycle gas turbine (CCGT) independent power producer (IPP) programme.

    The projects will comprise new CCGT plants developed on a build-own-operate basis. Each project will be implemented through a special-purpose project company wholly owned by the successful bidder.

    The qualified firms are:

    • Abu Dhabi National Energy Company [Taqa] (UAE)
    • Acwa (Saudi Arabia)
    • Al-Bawani Capital (Saudi Arabia)
    • Al-Jomaih Energy & Water (Saudi Arabia)
    • EDF (France)
    • Etihad Development Company (UAE)
    • Kepco (South Korea)
    • Marafiq (Saudi Arabia)
    • Mitsubishi Power (Japan)
    • Nesma Renewable Energy (Saudi Arabia)
    • PowerChina (China)
    • Saudi Energy (Saudi Arabia)
    • Sumitomo Corporation (Japan)

    Developers submitted statements of qualification for the round on 23 August, as exclusively reported by MEED.

    Some have already begun “the process of forming consortiums to bid” for the project, with up to three or four groups likely to make offers.

    Also in September, MEED exclusively reported that US-based GE Vernova was close to finalising a turbine reservation agreement with SPPC for the plants.

    The new plants will use advanced H-class or J-class gas turbine technology. Each IPP is expected to comprise two or three gas turbine generators, corresponding heat recovery steam generators with duct firing, and one or two steam turbine generators.

    The request for qualifications released by SPPC in July did not specify the number, locations or capacities of the projects, which mark the next stage of its CCGT IPP programme.

    The first round comprises Taiba 1, Taiba 2, Qassim 1 and Qassim 2, with a combined capacity of 7,200MW.

    The second round comprises Rumah 1, Rumah 2, Nairyah 1 and Nairyah 2, also with a combined capacity of 7,200MW.

    Saudi Arabia’s Acwa recently said it had begun initial commercial operations at the Taiba 1 and Qassim 1 CCGT power plants.

    US/India-based Synergy Consulting is the financial adviser for the procurement; Germany’s Fichtner is the technical adviser; and UK-headquartered Eversheds Sutherland is the legal adviser.


    READ THE SEPTEMBER 2026 MEED BUSINESS REVIEW – click here to view PDF

    Nuclear power ambitions gather pace; Kuwait keeps dealmaking alive despite war; Region invests in raising gas processing capacity.

    Distributed to senior decision-makers in the region and around the world, the September 2026 edition of MEED Business Review includes:

    To see previous issues of MEED Business Review, please click here
    https://image.digitalinsightresearch.in/uploads/NewsArticle/20055392/main.jpg
    Mark Dowdall