Saudi Arabia launches 200 PPP projects

6 April 2023

Saudi Arabia has announced a Privatisation & PPP (P&PPP) pipeline that includes 200 projects across 17 sectors.

This new P&PPP pipeline aims to attract local and international investors and ensure their readiness to participate in the schemes tendered to the market.

The initiative comes as the kingdom strives to increase the attractiveness of its economy and raise the private sector's contribution to GDP.

Minister of Finance and chairman of the Board of the National Centre for Privatisation & PPP (NCP), Mohammed al-Jadaan, said the list of projects aligns with the aims of Vision 2030, reinforces the strength of public-private partnerships (PPPs) and will contribute to attracting new international investments.

The pipeline of projects for each sector will be available for investors through the NCP portal.

Information about the first 140 projects has already been published, and more projects are expected soon.

Four PPP airports projects

In line with Saudi Arabia's aviation strategy to increase the country’s annual passenger handling capacity to 330 million by 2030, the kingdom has announced plans to tender four airports under the P&PPP pipeline: Abha International airport, Taif International airport, Hail International airport and Prince Naif International airport in Al-Qassim.

The Ministry of Transport & Logistics Services will procure the schemes.

The launch dates for the PPP tenders were not specified. However, MEED reported in July 2022 that through NCP, Saudi Arabia’s Matarat Holding Company was expected to start the procurement process to develop airport PPP projects in 2023.

In the initial plan, the Abha and Taif airport PPPs were scheduled to be tendered in the first half of 2023, while the Hail and Qassim airport projects were to be potentially tendered in the second half of 2023.

The P&PPP pipeline list includes:

Abha International airport

The existing Abha International airport is operating above capacity with 4.4 million passengers annually against the originally designed capacity of 1.5 million. The targeted capacity for the new airport is 8.5 million passengers a year by 2030 and 13 million passengers by 2053. The contract type is the build-transfer-operate (BTO) model and the project duration is 30 years.

Taif International airport

The capacity of the current Taif International airport is 600,000 passengers. The targeted capacity of the new airport is 4 million passengers by 2030 and 7.4 million passengers by 2053. The project will be developed under the design-build-finance-operate-maintain (DBFOM) concession; its duration is 30 years.

Hail International airport

This project aims to develop the airport and service facilities following the standards approved by the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO). The targeted airport capacity increase is 3 million passengers a year. The contract type, duration and launch details are not specified.

Prince Naif International airport in Al-Qassim

The scheme involves developing the airport in Al-Qassim in line with ICAO standards and increasing its capacity to 5.3 million passengers annually. The contract type, duration and launch details are not specified.

The Taif, Hail and Al-Qassim airport schemes were previously tendered and awarded as PPP projects using a BTO model.

Saudi Arabia’s General Authority of Civil Aviation (Gaca) awarded the contracts to develop four airport PPP projects to two consortiums in 2017. A team of Tukey’s TAV Airports and the local Al-Rajhi Holding Group won the 30-year concession agreement to build, transfer and operate airport passenger terminals in Yanbu, Qassim and Hail.

A second team, comprising Lebanon’s Consolidated Contractors Company, Germany’s Munich Airport International and local firm Asyad Group, won the BTO contract to develop Taif International airport.

These projects then stalled following the restructuring of the kingdom’s aviation sector.

Saudi Arabia has already privatised airports including the $1.2bn Prince Mohammed bin Abdulaziz International airport in Medina, which was developed as a PPP and opened in 2015.

Four PPP highways schemes

The kingdom has also announced plans to tender four highway schemes under the P&PPP pipeline. The following schemes will be procured by the Ministry of Transport & Logistic Services:

  • The 136-kilometre Asir-Jizan highway will include six intersections, 18km of bridges and a 9km-long tunnel network. The project starts at Al-Farah in Asir and extends to the Red Sea through Jizan. The contract type is DFBOM, and the project duration is 30 years. The launch date is not specified.

     
  • The 570km Jeddah-Jizan highway will comprise 43 intersections, 11 wildlife crossings and 29 bridges. The project scope includes converting the current 280km of double lanes into three lanes. The contract model is not specified; the project duration is 30 years.

     
  • The 447km Yanbu-Jubail highway will contain 17 intersections, 14 wildlife crossings, four bridges, one tunnel and 18 service areas. Construction work on a 39km section towards the Al-Zulfi area has been completed. The contract model, duration and launch date are not specified.

     
  • The Jeddah-Makkah road spans a length of 64km. It consists of seven interchanges and four camel crossings. The construction is under way for 51km of the road and is being carried out in three phases. The construction works for phase four are yet to begin. The construction cost for phase four of the road will be funded by the government, similar to the ongoing construction works for phases one to three. The proposed scope of work is for the operation and maintenance of the Jeddah-Makkah road, and developing and operating motorway service areas. The contract's duration and the tender's launch date are not specified.
Other planned PPP projects

Saudi Arabia has also announced plans to tender seven PPP desalination projects.

The independent water projects (IWPs) represent an aggregate desalination capacity of 2.8 million cubic metres a day (cm/d). Owned by the Ministry of Environment, Water & Agriculture, the IWPs will be procured under 25-year build-own-operate (BOO) contracts.

The first project, Ras al-Khair 2 with a capacity of 600,000 cm/d, will be launched in February 2024.

This will be followed by the launch of another IWP, the 400,000 cm/d Ras al-Khair 3, in April 2024.

In March 2025, the kingdom plans to launch the Tabuk IWP with a capacity of 400,000 cm/d. The Alshuqaiq 4 IWP is set for launch in July 2025, with a capacity of 400,000 cm/d.

These schemes will be followed by the Rabigh 5 IWP, with a capacity of 400,000 cm/d, to be launched in April 2027, and the Rayis 2 IWP, with a capacity of 300,000 cm/d, set for launch in July 2035.

Finally, the Jizan IWP is set to have a capacity of 300,000 cm/d. Its launch date is not yet disclosed.

In addition, the kingdom plans to tender six wastewater treatment projects starting in 2024. The five independent sewage treatment plants (ISTPs), one small sewage treatment plant (SSTP) and collection network will treat wastewater for reuse in non-agricultural municipal and industrial applications.

The five ISTPs represent an aggregate wastewater treatment capacity of 650,000 cm/d.

The Ministry of Environment, Water & Agriculture will procure the projects under build-own-operate-transfer (BOOT) models.

Other projects to be tendered under the P&PPP pipeline include several medical centres, health centres, hospitals, educational buildings, schools, colleges, universities, strategic water reservoirs, marine services schemes, land ports and power stations.

https://image.digitalinsightresearch.in/uploads/NewsArticle/10739699/main.jpg
Eva Levesque
Related Articles
  • Adnoc Onshore selects contractors for well tie-ins project

    27 October 2026

     

    Abu Dhabi National Oil Company’s onshore operating arm (Adnoc Onshore) has selected contractors for a major project to tie in wells across the Bab and North East Bab oil field developments in Abu Dhabi.

    Located 84 kilometres southwest of Abu Dhabi city, the Bab field has been in production since 1960 and is the emirate’s first oil-producing asset. The North East Bab cluster comprises the Al-Nouf, Rumaitha and Shanayel fields. 

    The Bab and North East Bab One Tie-In project is central to Adnoc Onshore’s contribution to Adnoc Group’s target of expanding crude oil production capacity to 5 million barrels a day (b/d) by 2027, an initiative known as the Accelerated Integrated Programme 5. The state energy company’s total production capacity currently stands at approximately 4.85 million b/d.

    According to industry sources, Adnoc Onshore has selected local contractor Robt Stone Middle East and China’s Jereh Group to carry out engineering, procurement and construction (EPC) works on the project. While both firms have been notified of their selection, a formal project kick-off meeting has yet to take place.

    Adnoc Onshore is understood to have started the tendering process for the Bab and North East Bab One Tie-In project last year, with contractors submitting technical and commercial bids earlier this year.

    Following the evaluation of bids, Adnoc Onshore sought best commercial offers from the bidders, which contractors submitted in May, MEED previously reported.

    The project budget is estimated at $1.2bn.

    Bidders for the contract are understood to have included:

    • Galfar Emirates (UAE branch of Oman’s Galfar Engineering & Construction)
    • Jereh (China)
    • Kalpataru Projects International (India)
    • Matrix Construction (UAE)
    • Robt Stone Middle East (UAE)
    • Target Engineering Construction Company (UAE)

    The project scope covers residual engineering, procurement of materials not supplied as free-issue items, site surveys, construction, installation, inspection, testing, and pre-commissioning and commissioning support. The works will deliver new wellsite facilities, including a new mini-pad, well bays and clusters across the Bab and North East Bab developments.

    Adnoc Onshore is Adnoc Group’s largest production subsidiary, accounting for roughly 2 million b/d of crude and about 7 billion cubic feet a day of associated gas from four primary onshore asset clusters: Bab, Bu Hasa, North East Bab and South East.

    ALSO READ:

    https://image.digitalinsightresearch.in/uploads/NewsArticle/20951928/main.jpg
    Indrajit Sen
  • Ashghal tenders Al-Udeid air base access road works

    27 October 2026

     

    Qatar’s Public Works Authority (Ashghal) has invited contractors to bid on a contract to build roads and related infrastructure around Al-Udeid Air Base.

    The project is located in Zone 95 of Al-Wakra Municipality, adjacent to Al-Majd Road. 

    The tender was issued on 22 October, with a submission deadline of 22 November.

    The scope includes the construction of a dual-lane carriageway to improve access to the air base, together with three roundabouts. The alignment will connect to Al-Majd Road to the east and tie into Street 203 in Zone 95 to the west. The contractor will also resurface and maintain connections to the existing road network.

    Associated works include street lighting, intelligent transport systems, directional signage and a surface-water drainage collection system.

    The contractor will provide crossing ducts, protect and relocate conflicting existing utilities, and complete detailed utility designs as required by relevant stakeholders through the Qatar Design Review System.

    The project also includes the design and construction of two electrical substations. The contractor must secure the necessary stakeholder and authority approvals before starting these works.

    The scheme will be delivered on a remeasurable, build-only basis using designs approved by others. It will also include designated contractor-designed elements and design-and-build packages for the substations.

    Bidders must submit two commercial pricing options: a base offer subject to material price-fluctuation provisions, and an alternative authority option without such provisions.

    The contract has a 550-day completion period from the commencement date, including mobilisation, followed by a 400-day maintenance period after the completion certificate is issued.

    Participation is restricted to local and international contractors registered under the Ministry of Finance classification system in Grade A or Grade B for road specialisation.

    Unclassified foreign firms may submit equivalent certified documentation from their country of origin, attested by Qatari diplomatic missions. They must obtain Ministry of Finance registration before contract award.

    For joint-venture bids, the lead partner must hold the required classification grade.

    https://image.digitalinsightresearch.in/uploads/NewsArticle/20950810/main.jpg
    Yasir Iqbal
  • Saudi Arabia gauges interest for Al-Ula wastewater expansion

    27 October 2026

     

    Saudi Arabia’s Royal Commission for Al-Ula (RCU) is conducting market sounding for the first phase of the Mughayra wastewater treatment plant (WWTP) expansion before formally starting its tendering process, according to industry sources.

    The project is valued at SR400m ($107m) and is intended to increase the Mughayra plant’s wastewater treatment capacity to 62,000 cubic metres a day.

    RCU is gauging interest from potential contractors and has not yet issued a prequalification questionnaire, a source said.

    The scheme forms part of Saudi Arabia’s broader investment drive to develop its cultural and tourism offering across Al-Ula.

    The commission launched its Journey Through Time Masterplan in April 2021, with implementation scheduled in three phases through 2035. The masterplan covers infrastructure development, water management and irrigation, alongside the regeneration of a 9-kilometre cultural oasis.

    French engineering firm Artelia previously noted in its 2025 annual corporate report that it is involved in the design phase of the Mughayra WWTP.

    RCU is also developing strategic potable-water storage infrastructure in Al-Ula, including a design-and-build project covering a 50,000-cubic-metre reservoir at Hub 06 and a 15,000-cubic-metre reservoir at Hub 08.

    Local contractor Bin Omairah previously confirmed that it is serving as the engineering, procurement and construction contractor for the storage facilities.

    https://image.digitalinsightresearch.in/uploads/NewsArticle/20950333/main.jpg
    Mark Dowdall
  • Qatari firm wins $147m Syria road deal

    27 October 2026

    Qatari contractor Al-Mohannadi for Roads, Trading & Contracting has signed a $147m contract with Syria’s General Directorate of Roads to rehabilitate and expand a 215-kilometre (km) highway corridor connecting to the Iraqi border.

    The project covers the rehabilitation and dualisation of a 170km section linking the Al-Busairi junction to the Al-Tanf border crossing, alongside the construction of a 45km link between the Al-Sabaa Biyar junction and Al-Busairi. Work is scheduled for completion within 900 days.

    The agreement was signed in Damascus by Moaz Najjar, director-general of the General Directorate of Roads, and Abdullah Adnan Al-Zattam, chief executive of Al-Mohannadi, in the presence of Syrian Transport Minister Yarob Badr and Finance Minister Mohammad Yusr Barnieh.

    The upgrade is intended to restore and expand one of Syria’s primary overland arteries to Iraq, which has suffered significant deterioration and capacity bottlenecks following years of conflict. The Al-Tanf corridor represents the most direct overland link between Damascus, central Syrian industrial centres and Baghdad.

    The project is designed to accommodate heavier commercial freight vehicles and reduce transit times between the two countries.

    The investment also forms part of broader efforts to re-establish Syria’s role as a regional transit corridor connecting Mediterranean ports with landlocked trade routes into Iraq and the wider region.

    https://image.digitalinsightresearch.in/uploads/NewsArticle/20950332/main.gif
    Yasir Iqbal
  • Adnoc showcases $16.3bn local manufacturing potential

    27 October 2026

    Abu Dhabi National Oil Company (Adnoc Group) has identified more than AED60bn ($16.3bn) in local manufacturing opportunities through 2030.

    The Abu Dhabi energy company also announced changes to its procurement, supplier registration and In-Country Value (ICV) localisation frameworks.

    The measures were announced at the second Make it with Adnoc Forum, held in Abu Dhabi on October 25. They are intended to give manufacturers, suppliers and investors greater visibility of future demand and a faster, clearer route to compete for Adnoc contracts, the company said.

    The more than 200 manufacturing opportunities cover products required for Adnoc’s projects and operations, including:

    • Rotating equipment and power
    • Electrical, control and automation systems
    • Drilling and completion equipment
    • Chemicals and catalysts
    • Piping, fabrication and heavy equipment
    • Spare parts and advanced manufacturing

    Many of the identified products are currently imported, Adnoc said. “Manufacturing them in the UAE shortens lead times, reduces exposure to global supply disruptions and strengthens the resilience of Adnoc’s operations,” it said in its statement.

    Adnoc, the UAE Ministry of Industry & Advanced Technology and the Abu Dhabi Investment Office (Adio) will work together to connect manufacturers with these opportunities. The collaboration will combine visibility of Adnoc’s demand, access to the national industrial database and financing through the National Industrial Resilience Fund, the company said.

    Adnoc also signed two memorandums of understanding on the sidelines of the forum with Adio and Kezad Group.

    ICV scheme expansion

    Adnoc announced the expansion of its Local+ programme, part of its ICV framework, to more than 100 UAE manufacturers, compared with 70 at its launch in May. The programme gives UAE-made products priority in Adnoc projects by requiring engineering, procurement and construction (EPC) contractors bidding for new tenders to source relevant products from manufacturers approved under the programme.

    Separately, Adnoc announced a redesign of its supplier registration and prequalification process. The company is targeting a reduction of up to 80% in the time required for suppliers to complete the process and become eligible to compete for Adnoc opportunities.

    The new model halves the number of required documents and removes prequalification requirements for 60% of service categories.

    A single window brings together registration, qualification and compliance, with requirements tailored to the nature of the work and its level of risk. Artificial intelligence will support document verification and the reuse of existing data, reducing repetitive submissions and administrative processing.

    ALSO READ:
    Adnoc steps up crude oil capacity expansion
    Adnoc funnels billions into boosting gas processing

    “Adnoc’s enhanced ICV model will more closely connect procurement decisions with commercial value and suppliers’ contribution to the UAE economy. Under the new model, commercial and ICV offers will be integrated into a single evaluation model,” the company said.

    “The previous bid-matching approach will be retired, encouraging suppliers to submit their most competitive commercial and ICV offers from the outset. Requirements will be proportionate to contract size and scope.

    “The model also enhances the administration of ICV-related retention payments. Where retention applies, automated calculation and release processes through the Adnoc Supplier Hub will improve transparency, reduce manual follow-up and support suppliers’ cash flow as obligations are met.”

    Alongside the ICV and registration enhancements, Adnoc outlined a new commercial approach built around four strategic shifts: agile, competitive, strategic and forward-looking.

    “The approach will advance simpler procurement and faster decision-making, contracting models aligned with project and market dynamics, targeted commercial negotiations and earlier visibility of Adnoc’s future demand.”

    Since its launch in 2018, Adnoc’s ICV programme has directed more than AED307bn ($83.6bn) into the UAE economy, the company said. By the end of 2025, it had also supported the localisation of more than 130 products, the development of 95 UAE factories, and employment opportunities for more than 27,500 Emiratis at participating private sector companies.

    https://image.digitalinsightresearch.in/uploads/NewsArticle/20948385/main5518.jpg
    Indrajit Sen