Riyadh steps up the Vision 2030 tempo

22 March 2023

 

Riyadh has begun pushing ahead with many of its Vision 2030 initiatives at a faster pace and in a much more tangible manner in the past six months, with the go-ahead given for several infrastructure packages on the kingdom’s flagship Neom project.

More than $13bn-worth of work has been awarded on Neom-linked projects since the start of 2022, including initial piling and tunnel blasting and drilling work for the Line development. More than $7bn has also been awarded in just the past five months, including $4.5bn across community housing schemes.

There has been equally robust activity on the other four official Public Investment Fund (PIF) gigaprojects. Projects worth another $1.8bn have been awarded since 2021 on the Diriyah Gate project, alongside $1.5bn-worth on the Roshn housing programme and $1.1bn each on the Red Sea Project and Qiddiya entertainment city.

Investment uptick

The shift in project tempo has also been matched by a step-up in other Vision 2030 initiatives, including the Shareek investment programme, which is aimed at supporting large Saudi companies in boosting the economic contribution of the kingdom’s private sector.

On 1 March, Saudi Arabia announced $51bn-worth of investments across eight Saudi companies as part of the programme. By 2030, Riyadh wants to increase the private sector GDP contribution to 65 per cent, while increasing the country’s non-oil exports from 16 to 50 per cent.

For external investors too, Saudi Arabia’s Vision 2030 plans are the top opportunity in the region, according to a recent poll by Egyptian financial services firm EFG Hermes. The survey showed that 34 per cent of respondents viewed Vision 2030 as the most important source of current investment opportunities.

There are meanwhile 23 companies waiting to list on the Saudi stock exchange. Those companies “are essentially on the runway waiting for the appropriate time, and obviously market conditions”, according to Mohammed ElKuwaiz, the chairman of the Capital Market Authority.

Last year was a record-breaking year for Saudi Arabia’s capital markets, with companies raising about $10.7bn (SR40bn) from initial public offerings (IPOs). The country also led regional IPO activity, with 34 out of the 48 GCC IPOs debuting on either the Tadawul or the Nomu.

Looking ahead, the Saudi market regulator is reviewing a further 77 IPO applications. It is also formulating a framework for dual listings, following the example of Americana, the first company to be dually listed in the kingdom and the UAE.

More broadly, the business confidence in the non-oil private sector continues to swell. In February, Saudi Arabia’s non-oil business activity reached its highest level in eight years due to a surge in demand, according to the Riyad Bank–S&P Saudi Arabia Purchasing Managers’ Index.

The index – in which a figure above 50 indicates expansion – increased from 58.2 to 59.8 in the fastest rate of increase since March 2015. The new orders component of the index rose to a record high of 68.7, with over 42 per cent of surveyed companies reporting a rise in new orders. The overall higher output also saw further employment and purchasing expansion.

Despite tighter monetary conditions, Naif al-Ghaith, Riyad Bank’s chief economist, noted the robust demand and supply balance spurred by the ongoing projects in the kingdom, which has caused “sharper uplifts in output and new orders for firms, as well as rising demand for labour”.

He added that while “prices have responded to the surge in demand, with the increase in input costs evident especially in the services and construction sectors”, business confidence remains high amid expectations for strong ongoing activity over the next 12 months.

Growth forecast

Despite the positive economic signs, the IMF reduced its 2023 GDP projection for Saudi Arabia to 2.6 per cent in January. This is in response to Opec+ agreements to restrict oil production 1.3 percentage points below the projection of 3.9 per cent growth in its October outlook.

Though non-oil growth remains strong, the reduction in oil output will unavoidably impact Saudi Arabia’s topline GDP. At the same time, the toll on oil revenue should be relatively contained and not unduly affect the kingdom’s capital spending, which is at this point being backed by a diverse pool of both sovereign and private assets.

According to a late February forecast by Riyad Capital, Saudi Arabia’s economy could grow by 3 per cent in 2023, driven principally by a pick-up in the non-oil sector, which it predicts will see a growth rate of 5 per cent this year.

In 2022, Saudi Arabia witnessed its strongest growth in the third quarter, when the GDP rate hit 8.8 per cent, according to the IMF, boosted by a 6.2 per cent growth rate for non-oil activity.

Riyad Capital also expects the weaker oil prices during the first half of 2023 to recover in the second half of the year, with Brent crude expected to end 2023 at a level above $100 a barrel.


MEED's April 2023 special report on Saudi Arabia includes:

> CONSTRUCTION: Saudi construction project ramp-up accelerates

> UPSTREAM: Aramco slated to escalate upstream spending

> DOWNSTREAM: Petchems ambitions define Saudi downstream

> POWER: Saudi Arabia reinvigorates power sector

> WATER: Saudi water begins next growth phase

> BANKING: Saudi banks bid to keep ahead of the pack

https://image.digitalinsightresearch.in/uploads/NewsArticle/10658249/main.gif
John Bambridge
Related Articles
  • KBR seeks renewable energy contracts in Libya

    29 September 2026

     

    The US-headquartered technology and engineering company KBR is seeking renewable energy project contracts in Libya.

    Representatives from KBR met with Abdussalam Elansari, chairman of the Renewable Energy Authority of Libya, earlier this month to discuss project opportunities, sources said.

    The meeting with Elansari followed KBR’s opening of a new branch in Libya and its securing of several contract awards in the oil and gas sector.

    In March, KBR announced that it had been awarded a contract by Zallaf Exploration, Production & Refining of Oil & Gas Company to provide project management and technical services for the South Refinery Project in Libya’s southern city of Ubari.

    Under the terms of the contract, KBR will provide contract management, project management and supporting technical services throughout the engineering, procurement and construction (EPC) phases of the project, according to a company statement.

    The EPC work is expected to be executed over a 50-month period.

    KBR is also carrying out work to re-evaluate the front-end engineering and design (feed) for the project to develop Libya’s J6 North Gialo field.

    In January, KBR signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with the state-owned Libyan Post, Telecommunications & Information Technology Company.

    Under the MoU, KBR agreed to support efforts to develop and improve Libya’s communications infrastructure and enhance fifth-generation (5G) mobile networks in the country.

    KBR has previously provided engineering services for major national projects in Libya, but was forced to shut down its office in the country several times amid political instability and security issues.

    When the company was known as Brown & Root, it worked on the Great Man-Made River Project in Libya, which is widely recognised as the largest irrigation project in the world.

    https://image.digitalinsightresearch.in/uploads/NewsArticle/20081880/main.jpg
    Wil Crisp
  • Sharakat receives bids for Riyadh East sewage treatment plant

    29 September 2026

    Saudi Arabia’s state water offtaker Sharakat has received bids for the contract to develop the $150m Riyadh East independent sewage treatment plant (ISTP).

    Bids were submitted on 28 September.

    The plant will have a treatment capacity of 200,000 cubic metres a day (cm/d) in its first phase, expanding to 500,000 cm/d in the second phase.

    Five consortiums made offers, including:

    • EtihadWE (UAE) / Metito (UAE) / Thrustboring Construction Company (TCC, Saudi Arabia)
    • GS Inima (Spain) / Alkhorayef (Saudi Arabia) 
    • Lamar (Bahrain) / China Harbour Engineering Company (CHEC)
    • Miahona (Saudi Arabia) / Marafiq  (Saudi Arabia) / Bin Omairah Holding (Saudi Arabia)
    • Suez (France) / Civil Works Company (Saudi Arabia) / Alwael (Saudi Arabia)

    In May, MEED exclusively reported that groups had begun to form for the project, which will be developed under a build‑own‑operate‑transfer model with a 25‑year concession term.

    It is understood that at least two other potential consortiums weighed up making an offer for the contract, but did not bid.

    In 2024, Sharakat prequalified 53 companies that could bid for the Riyadh East ISTP, part of seven planned ISTP projects it said it would procure between 2024 and 2026. The request for proposals was issued last October. 

    WSP is the technical adviser, and KPMG Middle East is the lead and financial adviser.

    The targeted commercial operation date for the facility is 2029.

    https://image.digitalinsightresearch.in/uploads/NewsArticle/20066914/main.jpg
    Mark Dowdall
  • Egypt firm wins Al-Dabaa desalination O&M contract

    29 September 2026

    Elsewedy Utilities has been awarded a three-year operation and maintenance (O&M) contract for a seawater desalination plant in Al-Dabaa on Egypt’s north coast.

    The plant has a production capacity of 40,000 cubic metres a day (cm/d), and the contract runs for three years.

    The award reflects Egypt’s increased focus on involving local private sector companies in operating and maintaining existing seawater desalination plants.

    In March, Egypt’s Ministry of Housing, Utilities & Urban Communities directed that a number of existing desalination plants with capacities of more than 10,000 cm/d be offered to specialised local private sector companies for O&M. The plants include facilities in Al-Dabaa, Matrouh and El-Alamein, as well as sites in the Red Sea region and North and South Sinai.

    The government said the move is intended to improve operating efficiency, strengthen maintenance systems and make greater use of specialised technical expertise. The contract value was not disclosed.

    Elsewedy Utilities is the utilities and facilities management arm of Elsewedy Electric, with activities spanning engineering, procurement and construction, O&M and utility management.

    As MEED understands, the contract is separate from the South Med desalination project at Al-Dabaa, which is being developed for the Engineering Authority of the Armed Forces’ Water Management Department.

    Elsewedy Electric Infrastructure previously announced it is the main engineering, procurement and construction contractor for the planned 160,000-cubic-metre-a-day seawater reverse-osmosis plant.

    Cairo-headquartered Engineering Experience Group also won a design and engineering services contract for the project in June.

    https://image.digitalinsightresearch.in/uploads/NewsArticle/20066727/main41574303.jpg
    Mark Dowdall
  • Oman awards exploration blocks to state upstream firm

    28 September 2026

    Oman’s Ministry of Energy & Minerals (MEMR) has awarded state-owned upstream firm OQ Exploration & Production (OQEP) exploration rights for three hydrocarbon blocks in the sultanate.

    OQEP, which is 75% owned by Omani state energy group OQ, has secured rights for Blocks 36, 43A and 66.

    Under the agreements, OQEP will conduct geological and geophysical surveys, analysis and modelling, and drill exploratory wells at the three blocks, with the aim of developing recoverable reserves.

    Neither MEMR nor OQEP disclosed the blocks’ locations, areas or prospective reserves in their statement.

    OQEP’s portfolio comprises 14 upstream oil and gas exploration and production assets in Oman, covering onshore and offshore operations and assets held under service contracts.

    Formerly known as Oman Oil Company Exploration & Production, OQEP’s flagship assets include Block 60, which contains the Abu Tubul and Bisat oil fields, and Block 48. The company also holds strategic interests in gas-producing Blocks 9, 10 and 61.

    Offshore expansion

    OQEP has been expanding its offshore exploration portfolio. In February, the company acquired a 30% participating interest in offshore Block 18, following MEMR’s award of exploration rights to a joint venture between OQEP subsidiary OQ Exploration & Production Al-Batinah Offshore and PC Oman Ventures, a wholly owned subsidiary of Malaysia’s Petronas.

    Located off Oman’s northeastern coast, Block 18 covers more than 21,000 square kilometres in the Sea of Oman, with water depths ranging from 50 metres to 3,000 metres. No confirmed discoveries have previously been reported in the block.

    ALSO READ: Concession deals boost momentum in Oman mining

    Under the concession agreement, Petronas holds a 70% participating interest and operatorship, while OQEP holds the remaining 30%.

    OQEP has also expanded its producing portfolio through the acquisition of a 35% interest in onshore Block 27 from Japan's Mitsui E&P Middle East in April. The transaction was valued at RO28.8m ($75m).

    Block 27 is operated by US-based Occidental Petroleum, which holds a 65% participating interest under an exploration and production-sharing agreement valid until 2035. 

    OQEP expects its interest in the block to contribute approximately 3,500 barrels of oil equivalent a day (boe/d) in additional net production this year.

    In June, MEMR signed an  with OQEP and state-owned Turkiye Petroller AO (TPAO), granting the companies exclusive exploration, appraisal, development and production rights for offshore Block 80.

    The block covers approximately 5,737 sq km in the Gulf of Oman, near the Strait of Hormuz and off Musandam governorate. It includes the producing Bukha and West Bukha oil and gas fields.

    The agreement stipulates a minimum exploration investment commitment of $90m over an initial eight-year exploration period. The work programme is divided into two phases to evaluate the block’s hydrocarbon potential.

    https://image.digitalinsightresearch.in/uploads/NewsArticle/20063097/main2825.jpeg
    Indrajit Sen
  • Saudi Arabia qualifies firms for gas-fired IPPs

    28 September 2026

    Register for MEED’s 14-day trial access 

    Principal buyer Saudi Power Procurement Company (SPPC) has qualified 13 companies to bid for the third round of Saudi Arabia’s combined-cycle gas turbine (CCGT) independent power producer (IPP) programme.

    The projects will comprise new CCGT plants developed on a build-own-operate basis. Each project will be implemented through a special-purpose project company wholly owned by the successful bidder.

    The qualified firms are:

    • Abu Dhabi National Energy Company [Taqa] (UAE)
    • Acwa (Saudi Arabia)
    • Al-Bawani Capital (Saudi Arabia)
    • Al-Jomaih Energy & Water (Saudi Arabia)
    • EDF (France)
    • Etihad Development Company (UAE)
    • Kepco (South Korea)
    • Marafiq (Saudi Arabia)
    • Mitsubishi Power (Japan)
    • Nesma Renewable Energy (Saudi Arabia)
    • PowerChina (China)
    • Saudi Energy (Saudi Arabia)
    • Sumitomo Corporation (Japan)

    Developers submitted statements of qualification for the round on 23 August, as exclusively reported by MEED.

    Some have already begun “the process of forming consortiums to bid” for the project, with up to three or four groups likely to make offers.

    Also in September, MEED exclusively reported that US-based GE Vernova was close to finalising a turbine reservation agreement with SPPC for the plants.

    The new plants will use advanced H-class or J-class gas turbine technology. Each IPP is expected to comprise two or three gas turbine generators, corresponding heat recovery steam generators with duct firing, and one or two steam turbine generators.

    The request for qualifications released by SPPC in July did not specify the number, locations or capacities of the projects, which mark the next stage of its CCGT IPP programme.

    The first round comprises Taiba 1, Taiba 2, Qassim 1 and Qassim 2, with a combined capacity of 7,200MW.

    The second round comprises Rumah 1, Rumah 2, Nairyah 1 and Nairyah 2, also with a combined capacity of 7,200MW.

    Saudi Arabia’s Acwa recently said it had begun initial commercial operations at the Taiba 1 and Qassim 1 CCGT power plants.

    US/India-based Synergy Consulting is the financial adviser for the procurement; Germany’s Fichtner is the technical adviser; and UK-headquartered Eversheds Sutherland is the legal adviser.


    READ THE SEPTEMBER 2026 MEED BUSINESS REVIEW – click here to view PDF

    Nuclear power ambitions gather pace; Kuwait keeps dealmaking alive despite war; Region invests in raising gas processing capacity.

    Distributed to senior decision-makers in the region and around the world, the September 2026 edition of MEED Business Review includes:

    To see previous issues of MEED Business Review, please click here
    https://image.digitalinsightresearch.in/uploads/NewsArticle/20055392/main.jpg
    Mark Dowdall